Thirsty Mallard Brewing – The Blog

All the updates from Thirsty Mallard Brewing

Update! ZOMG!!1!!!

Posted by Jeff on November 5, 2012

Once again, reader, I return.  Fear not, for I bring updates!  Be not unwise unto them be… thine… thee… fortuitous in mine gracing of thee.  … I’m not sure where I was going with that.  Or why.

Anyways… here’s the update.  Actually, quote a lot has happened since my last posting… so brace yourself for a smattering of updates.

Hot Blonde On The River, Blonde Ale – You may remember this beer caught an infection.  Well, I decided to dump some peach extract in there and it actually made a REALLY good Peach Blonde ale.  The slight sour from the infection really paired well with the sweetness of the extract.  It shows to go ya that where there is a will, there is a way.

Black Betty v2.0, Black IPA – Officially polished this keg off.  It was an amazing beer and I recommend it to anyone.  Unfortunately, I did NOT rebrew and enter it in Dixie Cup… because I got busy (lazy).

I’d Tap That, Blonde Ale – This was the re-brew of Hot Blonde.  It came out well, but I just don’t particularly care for blondes (ales, that is).  Everyone else seems to enjoy it, though.

Ok, so those are the last beers you knew about (because you faithfully follow this blog).  Here are the new ones:

Munich Dunk-ALE – This was an experiment.  I took a Munich Dunkel recipe and tried it with German Ale yeast.  So far, the result has pretty much sucked.  It has a green apple flavor to it that isn’t pleasant.  We’ll see if it ages out.  I have one friend that likes it, so, if anything, he can just finish off the keg for me.

Sex Panther, Black Belgian IPA – Ok, this one I made for the No Label Brewing Co.’s pro-am competition.  Basically it is my Black Betty v2.0 with Belgian Yeast.  I used a  blend of WLP500 and WLP520… not on purpose, out of necessity.  It’s a good beer, but I didn’t have time to properly carbonate, so I used the “crank up the CO2 and shake the shit out of it” technique.  Hopefully it ends up fizzy enough to keep the judges attention.  I’m hoping the witty name and funny label help propel it forward.  (See below)   It is currently on tap.

Owen’s Oat Brown Ale – Yep, decided to pull this recipe out and give it another shot.  I enjoyed it the first time, but this time added a touch of chocolate malt to try and get it a bit more chocolatey.  Also, I toasted the oats this time.  I hear that helps give it a toasty flavor, which sounds good.  That one will be drinkable by the end of November.

Honeycrisp Cider – So I finally dumped the bad mead in my 2.5 gallon keg and decided I need to fill it… and cider sounded like a great idea.  I found some organic 100% honeycrisp apple juice at the HEB and, after tasting, decided that would make a great cider.  The yeast I used was a few days expired, so we’ll see how that affected things.  I’ll probably have that one ready around Christmas.

So that’s where we stand.  I’m thinking of brewing a Black Barleywine at the end of the year (to be enjoyed next year).  We shall see if that comes to fruition.

Until next time, cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
