Thirsty Mallard Brewing – The Blog

All the updates from Thirsty Mallard Brewing

Update – Black Betty v2.0 & Blonde Ale

Posted by Jeff on July 7, 2012

First off, I wanted to update on my previous post about Black Betty v2.0.  I freaking LOVE this beer.  Seriously.  I’m not even mad about how the water chemistry may have affected this beer, because I like it just the way it is!  I think this recipe is done tweaking and will get rebrewed for the Dixie Cup in the fall.

On to sadder news… I tried to brew a blonde ale for a trip to a river house with some friends.  Lo and behold, when I went to transfer from conical to keg, I found that I left the airlock stopper off the lid.

Whoops.

I hoped for the best but expected the worst… and I was greeted with a lovely layer of infection growing atop my beautiful blonde (ale).  Unfortunately, this beer was not going to be palatable to my friends going with me to the river house.  On a positive note, the infection wasn’t tasting too bad (yet).  It was still a bit thin and watery, but I think it will sour up nicely.  Maybe a nice, Berlinner-Blonde.  In any case, I never throw beer out… always give it some time to see where it goes.

I bought ingredients and will be re-brewing the blonde this weekend, hopefully with better results…

Here’s the recipe:

Hot Blonde On The River

5.5 Gallons – 60 min. Boil
Est. OG – 1.049
Est. IBU – 18.2

Grains:
10 lbs – Two-Row (US)
0.5 lb – Crystal 15L (UK)
0.5 lb – Domestic Wheat Malt

Hops:
1.0 oz. Tettnang – 4.8% AA – 60 min.

Yeast:
WLP001 California Ale – with 1200mL starter

Leave a Reply

 
