Thirsty Mallard Brewing – The Blog

All the updates from Thirsty Mallard Brewing

Update 4-14-2012

Posted by Jeff on April 14, 2012

I know.  I am quite inept at continuous updates to this blog… but I try.  Honestly.  For starters, I have updated my “What’s On Tap” page.  Secondly, I’ve added a picture of my completed brewstand to the Photos page (a full album of the build can be found at the link a few posts back).  And thirdly, I’m here to update you!

Ok, well, the last update was back in November after Black Betty (Bam-ba-lam).  She was a great beer.  I did send it off to a competition, but the judges said it wasn’t hoppy enough.  I disagree and thought it had a nice balance, but, such is the way.  Anyway, that beer has long since been tapped out.

Back in December I brewed my famous Pumpkin Ale.  Not the BCS one I did last year, but the good recipe from 2009 & 2010.  The one where I actually cut up and roast pumpkin to add to the beer.  It turned out great, although I brewed it late and still had the majority of a keg left after the holiday season had passed (and by then, who’s really in the mood for pumpkin beer?).

Ok, then I brewed the Tallow mead with my homebrew club in January.  February I made a “dark steam ale” which was an experimental recipe to make a black steam ale, but it didn’t turn out well.  Then I brewed an imperial chocolate coffee oatmeal stout… which turned out just phenomenal (more on that later).   Then recently I’ve brewed my American Pale Ale and just last week brewed a black IPA.

So that’s the update.  I’m going to call this post a win and start a new one to talk about individual beers.

 

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
