Thirsty Mallard Brewing – The Blog

All the updates from Thirsty Mallard Brewing

Jeff’s Pale Ale – Update

Posted by Jeff on March 22, 2010

I’ve decided to dub my pale ale just that… mine.  Jeff’s Pale Ale!  It’s not super catchy, but this pale ale is exactly what I want out of a pale, so it makes sense.

Ok, so I transferred off the carboy and into a keg today and poured a little sample for me…

Sweet baby Jesus this beer is good! 

First thing I get is the strong Cascade hops in the aroma.  I added an ounce to secondary and it REALLY came through nicely! 

Secondly, the tasting.  This beer is fan-freaking-tastic!  This is my idea of the perfect pale ale!  A very balanced and easy to drink beer with just the right amount of hop bitterness (not too much like some over-hopped commercial pale ales) from the Chinook hops (my favorite hop).  Coming in at a nice 5%ABV, this is one of the better beers I have right now.

Now… since my Fiesta amber came out so blah, I was thinking of bring this pale as a lifeline.  But after sampling it… I don’t know if I WANT to share with the masses!  Oh decisions… pride or greed…

In any case, I’ve brewed a damn good beer!  I definitely think I may bottle a few for competition.

Leave a Reply

 
