Thirsty Mallard Brewing – The Blog

All the updates from Thirsty Mallard Brewing

Frontier Fiesta Beer?

Posted by Jeff on February 9, 2010

One of the biggest events at UH in the Spring, Frontier Fiesta, is fast approaching.  I brought a few kegs of homebrew a few years back that everyone LOVED.  Which is great, but now every Fiesta I get requests for homebrew from everyone.  Every year I say I’ll brew some next year… well, maybe this year I live up to it.  So… what to brew?

Fiesta is March 25-27.  I’ll probably only bring homebrew out on Saturday, 3/27, so that gives me approximately 6 weeks as of this Saturday to get something brewed, fermented, aged and carbonated.

So, here are some options:

  •  Wheat beer – I can do a traditional hefe or a Blue Moon style wheat.
  • Amber Ale – Simple and easy
  • Chili Beer – Would go GREAT with the BBQ… not sure what base beer would be, though
  • Scottish Ale – Easy to drink 
  • Pale Ale – A nice classic, although not sure how the hops will go over
  • IPA – See above
  • ESB – A nice style, although not everyone appreciates a British beer

So those are a few options.  I think I’ll definitely do a wheat, just because they are crowd pleasers.  

I’ll update as soon as I decide.  In the meantime, feel free to offer suggestions via comments.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
