Thirsty Mallard Brewing – The Blog

All the updates from Thirsty Mallard Brewing

Brown Ale Brew Day

Posted by Jeff on October 5, 2009

Saturday I brewed up a brown ale.  It was a nice overcast day…  perfect for brewing!  Here’s the recipe:

Brown Ale – 5.75 gallons
EST OG – 1.052

11 lbs. Two Row (US)
0.75 lbs – Crystal 55
0.75 lbs – Special B
6.0 oz – Chocolate Malt (350L)
0.5 oz – Black Patent (500L)

1.5 oz. – East Kent Goldings – 60 min
0.6 oz. – Willamette – 10 min
0.6 oz. – Domestic Hallertauer – 0 min

WLP002 English Ale yeast (starter made)

Mash = 153F
Ferment = 68F for 10 days, raise to 72 for 4 days.

Originally I had intended to brew a Moose Drool clone, recipe from The Brewing Network’s Jamil Show – Can You Brew It.  Unfortunately, the homebrew shop was out of a few ingredients, so I had to make substitutions.  Also, I forgot to buy water, so I used the water from my hose, which is some pretty hard water.  Hopefully it turns out alright.

Brew day went perfectly.  I hit all my numbers and everything seemed to go well.   As of Sunday, fermentation had kicked off and was going strong.  This was my first time to use a “real” starter, and it seemed to go well. 

This beer should be ready to drink in November.  Now I just gotta think what to name it and come up with a kegerator label.  A few names I’m kicking around are, “Duck Pond”, “Lil’ Brown Duck” or “Ugly Ducking”.  I’ll take any suggestions…

Leave a Reply

 
