Thirsty Mallard Brewing – The Blog

All the updates from Thirsty Mallard Brewing

Brewing Update

Posted by Jeff on May 29, 2009

Since I haven’t been able to update my old blog for some time, here is what’s current with Thirsty Mallard Brewing…

Inventory:
Bottled – Quackenshire Wee Heavy Ale (approximately 1.5 years old as of this post)
Kegged:
Ol’ Bloke – English Ale
Black Quacker Oats – Oatmeal Stout
Alyssa Ale 1 – Blonde Ale
Alyssa Ale 2 – Irish Red Ale

The Alyssa Ale’s were brewed for a friend in honor of his new baby daughter, Alyssa Regan Honeycutt.  The first one, a blonde ale, didn’t come out as I hoped.  It was 100% pale malt, and 1 oz. Crystal hops at 60, 1 oz. Crystal at flame-out.  It ended up tasting a bit citrusy, which I didn’t care for.

Alyssa Ale 2 was my makeup brew.  I went with an Irish Red.  Not only is it a tasty style but it also has a little more background flavor, so if something went wrong, I could mask it.  The recipe came from the book Brewing Classic Styles.

The Oatmeal Stout on tap also came from Brewing Classic Styles.  I made it at the tail end of the Texas winter (February) and it was great, but now that it’s getting hot out, I have to be in the mood to have one to drink it.  Bad brew planning on my part!

The English ale is left over from beer I brewed for my wedding last year.  It’s still quite good, though.

The Quackenshire Wee Heavy is my experiment into big beers and aging.  It’s a robust 9% ABV, and I’m trying to age it for 2 years.  I think it’s nice and it’s getting some wonderful dark fruit and caramel flavor development.

Aside from that, I’m not brewing much.  My wife and I are getting into our new house soon, so I’ve been trying to limit my brewing until after we move.  Hopefully that will be soon… I have a few recipes I’d love to brew…

Leave a Reply

 
